top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFfion Evans

Pipped to the post



A variety of factors aside from the actual job I previously held led me to resign.

I took responsibility for needing to take care of my mindset and look to recover from what could only be described as mental fatigue so that when I eventually take on a new role, I am in a position to achieve great success.


I am now actively pursuing opportunities that arise as I have managed to take the time needed to feel a sense of actual reality and being confident in my abilities.


Previous luck(?) has led myself to have never entered the recruitment rejection cycle. Fortunately, I have always managed to be successful when reaching an interview stage, and that stage is when I am most confident during the application process. The ability to talk to new people is probably my biggest strength so I feel I am always capable of being appointed in positions once I reach that stage.


However, I have recently attended two interviews and for both positions, I was rejected. The first job rejection I have received, followed quickly by another, led my confidence to crumble slightly. I decided to receive feedback from both roles to see areas for which I could improve - and to quote one:


she came very close, unfortunately she was just ‘pipped to the post’”


I was lost momentarily having received such positive feedback with no areas for improvement. I was under the impression that I would be scrutinized for shaving my hair (It was a charity donation), or that I didn’t respond well to questions, yet, the only feedback received was that I was great – but someone else got the job.


As the second rejection feedback followed a similar theme, I started thinking what am I doing wrong? – but it appears to be out of my control. It is almost like a 100m sprinter spending all of their time and energy into living and training efficiently, and just losing at the last second to a quicker athlete. Although it hurts, you have to respect the other candidate and look forward to how you can improve.


Now that is easier said than done, and I have shed a tear and felt severe imposter syndrome. Nevertheless, I am trying to exert that sporting mentality to continue to strive forward for success.


It is so crucial to try and not dwell on the negative feelings for too long as it enforces a toxic cycle of ill feelings and resentment towards yourself. The recruitment process is tough, and to hold on to the negativity for too long only restricts you from using your energy on actively approaching new positions.


It is simple law of vibrations. What energy we put out dictates our vibrational frequency and pattern that inevitably, things similarly return to us.


That said, any recruiters, friends, or unique readers that know of any positions feel free to contact me – If I could start yesterday, that would be perfect!

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page