top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFfion Evans

Nike...done it again?



Studying Sports Management (MSc) has fully opened my eyes to see the inconsistencies within the sports industry, and lack of coherence between female, and males organised sports. Growing up as a major sports fan/competitor, you have specific barriers that you face as an individual who goes against the status quo in enjoying what society has constructed as a “man’s” hobby. Anne O’brien construed that the medias role in creating a toxic environment, suppressing the capabilities and enjoyment that women can have through male-dominated areas results in a society that forces an agenda that both businesses and people suffer from due to the lack of progression. Nike however, when assessing their campaigns over the last ten years, is leading in how major brands need to use their position to help break down social stigmas, especially, surrounding the sporting industry. The advert in question is not the memorable Colin Kaepernick campaign, but, the Serena Williams “Dream Crazier”.

Firstly, my emotions in response to watching the advert. I think the majority of women who have played sport throughout their childhood will feel a strong connection to the messages throughout the advert. When I look at my early childhood, I was never the stereotypical girl. I was quite happy to take my Action Man quad-bike to school and have a “Kickabout” with the boys during break time because there was no greater feeling than re-enacting glorious sporting moments and absolutely smashing a ball into the top corner (Or hitting the teacher more often than not). The enjoyment I had associated with sports however also conceived an emotional struggle which to this day I still face. Examining how I felt during this period, yes I felt I was apart of a group of friends, but simultaneously I had the feeling of being an outcast. Even though the boys I played football, rugby or basketball with never treated myself as if I was incapable, there is the undertone of being the only girl surrounded by boys and the eventual passing comments that come through taking part. Serena Williams speaks the first line;


"If we show emotion we're called dramatic. If we want to play against men, we're nuts. And if we dream of equal opportunity, delusional.”


This quote is symbolic of all the feelings I felt growing up and participating in sports. It fully encapsulates what is wrong with society in that something I found sheer enjoyment through, led myself to suffer mentally because of what is considered normal. It is still something I struggle to overcome today, in that I feel the societal pressures constantly of not being able to compete with men, but also, I naturally suppress my enjoyment and go into periods of isolation which restricts myself from participating in sports because I have spouts of depressions stemming from childhood memories of feeling alone.


First Anfield experience (9 years old) which I later regretted due to the comments received

Moving away from the emotional self-reflection, analyzing the advert from a marketing perspective, Nike has produced a slick and empowering advert which has proved to be a good move by the brand. It pushes through a message to break down barriers for women while highlighting double standards that women do face within not only sports but the workplace. Not only that, the dominant message is symbolic towards the “Just do it” slogan that has performed so well for Nike and encourages a more progressive form of advertisement that not only attempts to sell a brand but make a social change. As much as you can critique major brands for using CSR to promote themselves, I think there is a need to appreciate the message itself for what it is attempting to present. Organisations are always going to try and sell their products but if more can adopt an approach which puts forward these messages and tries to ignite change then eventually a society that doesn’t promote isolation like I previously felt may be achieved.

The success of this message I feel is unquestionable given the statistics showing a positive response as well as breaking all of the records set by the Kaepernick campaign. The media frenzy generated by such emotive and powerful messages further stimulates the notion of “the rebel sell” and exemplifies to organisations that there is a need to not only meet the consumers demands through products but also, offering a message that resonates in the mind of consumers creating a point of discussion. I feel the one aspect of this campaign which has not been spoken about in the media, is its ability to be a point of starting a conversation surrounding a somewhat sensitive issue. For example, my reflection of sports during my childhood I may not have felt the need ever to mention it whereas now I have been given an opportunity to discuss something fundamental to not only change the minds of peers but also personally. That is what I would base the success of this campaign. Nike has created a positive image for the company while given the opportunity for intelligent discussions to take place regarding such a crucial matter for society.

Although it seems somewhat paradoxical to suggest that Nike only have the intention of breaking down social constraints for women through this campaign, I do not think we can discredit the message due to the profits that Nike would inevitably receive resulting from the campaign. Although the profit-driven incentives associated with marketing frustrate and create conflicting opinions for myself due to the firm belief and values that I hold (like many others). I do feel that despite the profiteering nature of the industry any attempt to facilitate a social change can only be respected in some way. Now I am not excusing the horrible actions that Nike has/is conducting, or suggesting that they are in any way a socially ethical company. Only that their marketing team has been active and on point with the message they have attempted to present and I for one, feel somehow motivated watching it to achieve something more significant than what I felt was possible.




37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page