top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFfion Evans

London Marathon 2020 Mermaids support!

Updated: Dec 28, 2020



It is less than 12 weeks to go until I put myself through the 2020 London Marathon – which I am very much hoping to survive!


Currently, my training involves three 40 minute runs, a 30-minute run, and finishing on a 140 minute run on a Sunday. It is fair to say, my lower legs are still in excruciating pain, and I cannot put into words the regret I feel being a toe-walker for 23 years.


As I am starting to lose motivation, I decided to set-up my charity page today. I will be running for Mermaids UK, a charity that supports trans and gender diverse children, teens, young people, and their families.


Now, I don’t fall into the group of individuals they support. Yet, my passion does not cease to exist in supporting a community that continues to face consistent exclusion, harassment, and abuse, even from within the LGBTQIA+ community.

I have spoken to many friends regarding the issue. And, even for left-leaning liberally minded folk, there is still a concerning level of transphobia. The trans community that has fought for so many LGBTQIA+ rights, yet, they are left to fend for their battles because the people they fought for don’t “identify” or “relate.” It is the main reason I find myself passionate to support the trans community because whether you identify or not is irrelevant when fundamental human rights are continually disregarded.


I am always astounded reading through social media the persistent abuse, which I find worrying because it is all prejudice against someone that does not conform to your idea of comfortable normality. Their life goes against a conventional upbringing, and people get scared of difference, which I understand the principle; however, I think as a society, there is a need to move on from dictating people’s lives and forcing moral philosophical rulings based on your insecurities.


If you look at the YouTube vlogger, Nikkie De Jager, who recently came out as transgender, abuse that was thrown her way surrounded the idea that she had “Lied to people.” The ideology stems again from the individuals' own insecurities and attempting to enforce a moral ruling because of their personal feelings. It also changes the narrative as the abuser manipulates the situation to become the victim of a “lie,” when in reality, it does not concern anyone other than the person and in this case, Nikkie, who also decides whom she confides in regarding how she identifies.


Transgender is not a choice, and more importantly, it is not our responsibility to enforce our beliefs on someone that exclude, harass, or abuse individuals.


In all, it is a privilege to support Mermaids UK. Not only to help young people and families through transitional stages but hopefully, bring some awareness to issues that are not discussed. I am proud to raise donations for a charity that is trying to assist young people through a challenging period in their life that will hopefully promote love and belonging to those, whilst also educating and raising awareness surrounding the reality and misinformation within the media. With any luck, anyone that does read will follow my mentality which is;


As long as people are SAFE, CONSENSUAL, and RESPONSIBLE…we have no right to judge or force our beliefs that trap someone into a life of misery – Leave people to live their truth.


Hopefully, I will also get some supporters as well!







(If I have offended anyone regarding the content, please message and I will address the issue – always open to learn!)

107 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page